Nothing.

I’ve written very little in the last few days. I’m lost for ideas, sans creativity. This is strange, as my behaviour has become a lot more erratic in the last few days, which usually heralds a creative spike in my writing.This time, nada. So, here’s some prose-poetry about nothing:

 

Nothing I find very interesting. I can talk about it for hours.

Nothing is something I really enjoy talking about. I love to discuss it in daily life, at work or at home, the nuance of the ‘nothingness’ and in the vapid way in which I do it. Take for example, you’ve had a busy day at work, then come home to find me, sitting at the table, with book, with mug, gleefully staring at you, from your arduous day. I sit there and talk at you. I talk at you, through you, and beyond you. I don’t think about how you are. I want to talk to you about nothing. Nothing I find very interesting. I can talk about it for hours.

Nothing can vary. It can be about what I did that day. It can be how I read a book that is about nothing. It can be about the coffee I drank, that tasted of nothing. There I still sit, book in hand, coffee on table; glee. You stare back. You try to get a word in edge ways. I continue to talk about the Romans, and how Caesar invaded Gaul. I talk through you. Caeser is very interesting. Nothing is very interesting.

Did you know that Caesar is spellt with a hard ‘C’?  So very interesting. I can talk about it for hours.

A daily pursuit of nothing. There are many nothings in the shop that I can buy on a daily basis. I chop them up and put them in a pan, waiting to eat. I like to cook. I’ll tell you about it whilst I cook. You have to know why I cook. It’s interesting. I need to tell you. If I can’t tell you then there’s something wrong. I need to talk about nothing. Nothing is essential. Nothing is important.

Nothing is very interesting. I can talk about it for hours. Did you know that obsessive talking and reassuring one’s knowledge on the world is a symptom of nothing? I find these types of things very interesting. I can talk to you about them for hours. No, don’t interrupt me. I need to talk to you.  I’ll keep talking about nothing. Nothing I find very interesting. I can talk about it for hours.

How was your day? I can sometimes arrive at it. I can sometimes forget to talk about nothing. Nothing is very interesting, but I want to talk about you too. But then again, I need to talk about nothing. I need to talk about my perceptions. I need to talk. I can talk about anything. I can talk about nothing.

Sometimes I don’t like talking about nothing, but that doesn’t stop me talking about nothing. Nothing is a comfort. Nothing is essential. Did you know that the etymology or the word ‘crumpet’ comes from the Welsh word ‘crempog’ which means pancake?

I like people to know I know things. I like talking about nothing. Without that, there’s nothing.

Nothing I find very interesting. I can talk about it for hours.

 

This entry was posted in Drivel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

